Camping In

Poking around, I’ve discovered that the forgotten corners of our domicile are full of surprises. The pipe under our bathroom sink used to leak, and that cabinet happens to be where I store our toilet paper, so after the bottom half of a 12-pack of toilet paper got soggy, I lined the cabinet with a catalog to absorb some of the dampness before it ruined our paper products. I hate Victoria’s Secret, so I thought it was fitting for the job.

It was only when clearing out that space that I realized why a lingerie catalog wasn’t the greatest idea.

Luckily, I was able to scrape the sexy off.

Before the movers took away all of my kitchen gear, I prepared most of the food I had left, making things like kale-mushroom-tomato “quiche”. I should have seeded the tomato (look at that pith), and I put “quiche” in quotation marks because I didn’t use any milk or cream and only a little cheese (pepperjack), so it’s more like an omelette in a pre-fab pie-crust than a quiche. Still pretty delicious.

The movers came a week ago, so we’ve been camping out in a mostly empty apartment. My husband supervised the packing while I worked on my laptop at the coffeeshop, so I’m a little excited/scared to see what comes out on the other side. For example, I never dealt with this closet, in the guest room.

Now it looks like this.

I’m hoping most of that was empty suitcases, but who knows?

Anyway, I enjoy roughing it. The minimalist in me sleeps very well this way.

We’re eating out a lot, but at home, there’s been plenty to nosh on. Here is the saag paneer I made a while ago (which was not improved by its latest stint in the freezer), and some veggies (primarily cabbage, the most nutritious, affordable, longlasting, verstatile hunk of produce money can buy) drizzled with a dressing I made from yogurt and jarred cilantro chutney.

If you’re not freezing your fresh pita and defrosting them individually, as needed, on the gas-burner, you’re missing out.

Things have been busy and there’s lots to say and show, but the one laptop in our house (we usually have  at least two at any given time) is being used as an entertainment system, which limits its availability for things like blogging. I didn’t realize that I frequently use the computer when my husband is watching tv. Now I know.

I’m looking forward to having proper wireless internet set up in our new place. We’ve had a broadband card all this time, and we have to wander off if we both need internet. Ch-ch-changes…

I came across some photos taken during the first year we lived in this apartment; I’d forgotten how empty it was for so many months before we got around to buying furniture. We had a table (seen left) and a couple of chairs, and that was all. In the frame I can see my flip-phone and my rolling tobacco and the floppy leather journal I used up ages ago. Now I have an iPhone and I’m almost finished another journal, and that painting leaning against the wall in the living room is going to be painted over when we get around to it. It was also packed with all of our things, though we would have just as soon jettisoned it.

But living spare, without a couch or a bed or coffee-tables and all of the dressings: It wasn’t so bad then, and it isn’t so bad now.

  1. #1 by Brewer's Wife on March 24, 2011 - 8:07 am

    “Luckily, I was able to scrape the sexy off.” LOL! Cabbage also gets a lot of mileage in our house too. I’m a fan of the ‘camping in’ aspect of moving as well. When we arrived in GA, our stuff had not arrived yet and our gas wasn’t even on. So we ate out and slept on the (hardwood) floor, using my tiny laptop to watch Buffy on DVD. Good times. Good luck this weekend!!!

  2. #2 by lizardqueen on March 27, 2011 - 8:19 pm

    Yeah, that was my favorite line too. Can’t wait to hear what the move was like and how you’re settling in!

Leave a Reply

