Moving to Muscat

So, KC and I are moving to Muscat, Oman, in about a month. Before I try to answer the most common questions I’ve been asked, I should make this disclaimer: I’m no expert. I spent only two days in Muscat, and I was very jet lagged. So I guess the only thing I can say definitively about Muscat is that it is extremely far away.

Which brings me to the first question people ask when I tell them I’m moving to Oman, “Where is that?” And I say, “In the Middle East, on the Arabian peninsula,” or I pull out my phone to show it on a map:

Image

KC grew up in the UAE, which is only five hours away by car. He was never in a great hurry to go back to that part of the world, but this assignment gives us a unique opportunity to explore it together. Also, Muscat is a two- or three-hour flight from India, where KC has a lot of family, so we can finally visit them. The travel opportunities factored heavily into this decision, made so long ago.

I guess Muscat’s proximity to Saudi Arabia is what inspires the next question I get a lot, which is “Will you have to wear a burqa?” The simple answer is “No,” but that’s a subject for another post that I am surely not qualified to write, but I will probably try to anyway.

The third question is some variation on “Will you work?” and the short answer is “Yes,” though I haven’t yet gotten my ducks in a row. It’s probably not wise for me to blog about my career anyway, so… Let’s move on, shall we?

And then of course people want to know “When?” and I’m not sure what to tell them. We decided to go last fall, confirmed the new assignment in February, and it’ll be at least another month before we actually move. The pace of this relocation has been glacial.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

